Skip to content

KREM anchor will be laid off

June 18, 1985

The Spokesman-Review

KREM-TV anchor Dennis May will be leaving the station in September, involuntarily.

May, who’s been evening and late-night anchor for the station the past three years, said he was told his contract won’t be renewed this fall.

May said the decision was based on management evaluation of his work. He said Jan Allen, the station’s news director, recently told him “I wasn’t a leader.”

“I told her I didn’t understand what that meant. I had been doing everything they asked me to,” May said.

Allen, contacted by a reporter today, said company policy prohibits her speaking about “personnel matters.”

May works as co-anchor with Beverly Carr, who has been at the station five years. May’s post will be filled after an evaluation of job candidates.

KREM, owned by King Broadcasting of Seattle, has made intensive efforts in the past two years to challenge KHQ for top place in news ratings. Along with that effort, May said, has been corporate attention to “bottom-line” cost-cutting.

“I probably make as much as anyone here on staff; that may have been one reason: They might be able to find a replacement and another reporter for what they pay me,” he said.

May, 38, attended Lewis and Clark High School in Spokane. He returned to Spokane after working as an anchor in Salt Lake City, Utah.

“I’ve got a number of people out there already looking for jobs for me,” he added. “Broadcasting is a fairly nomadic business. There are other ports out there and I knew that Spokane wasn’t where I was going to settle down.”

Tuesday, June 18, 1985

From → KREM

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

